LMU Academic Scholarships for First-Year Students

Loyola Marymount University offers a wide range of academic scholarship programs to recognize and reward the academic accomplishments of our most distinguished entering first-year students. No special application is required for these scholarships. All applicants for admission are automatically considered. Selection is based on academic accomplishment which may include one or more of the following factors: GPA, rigor of college prep curriculum, class standing, or standardized test scores. Please note that no student will be disenfranchised for not submitting standardized test scores. Additional factors may also be considered for particular scholarships, as indicated below.

Scholarship Eligibility & Requirements

All first-year students are eligible for the scholarships described below. Equal opportunity will be provided for all incoming first-year applicants for scholarship consideration on the basis of their demonstrated academic ability and merit without discrimination on the basis of their race, color, religion, gender, sexual orientation, national origin, citizenship, age, disability, and status with the armed forces unless otherwise stated in the scholarship guidelines.

Full-time enrollment (12-18 units) is required each semester to receive these awards. All awards may be adjusted if you receive additional federal, state, or institutional aid after your scholarship is awarded. Awards are available for a maximum of eight semesters of enrollment, and are not available for summer enrollment or enrollment in a non-LMU study abroad programs.

Annual renewal of these awards is automatic up to 4 years or 8 semesters, as long as you meet the eligibility requirements outlined in the LMU Merit Scholarship Benefits and Responsibilities.

Here is a summary of our scholarship programs:

Arrupe Scholarships 

Named for Fr. Pedro Arrupe, the long time Superior General of the Society of Jesus (the Jesuits) whose vision of Educating Men and Women for Others has become the hallmark of Jesuit education. Arrupe Scholarships are highly competitive and selective, range in value from $12,500 annually to full tuition, and are renewable for four years. 

Jesuit and Marymount High School Scholarships

In recognition of the values and heritage LMU shares with the Jesuit and Marymount secondary schools in the United States, students attending Jesuit and Marymount high schools may be awarded the Jesuit or Marymount High School Scholarship annually, with a limit of one recipient per high school each year. This scholarship carries a value of $12,500 annually, and is renewable for four years, for a total value of $50,000. In addition to academic accomplishment, selection for this scholarship considers involvement in school and community activities, leadership and service.  There are a limited amount of Jesuit and Marymount High School scholarships available each year.  While there is an oppotunity for one student from each Jesuit or Marymount high school to earn the scholarship, it is not guaranteed that a student will be selected from every high school.

Jesuit Community Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded by LMU’s Jesuit community to graduates of Jesuit or other Catholic secondary schools whose contributions to their community through service and leadership warrant special recognition. Approximately 10 Jesuit Community Scholarships are awarded each year. Jesuit Community Scholarship winners receive $10,000 annually for four years, for a total of $40,000. 

LMU Achievement Awards

Recognizing students of substantial academic achievement, LMU Achievement Awards beginning at $1,000 and renewable annually for four years will be offered to students based on academic accomplishment.